Oke-Ado High School Old Students Association (OHSOSA) Resuscitates Annual Prize Giving Day

By Taiwo Ogunniyi
Old students of Oke Ado High School, under the aegis of Oke Ado High School Old Students Association (OHSOSA), Ibadan have resuscitated annual prize giving day of their alma mater.

Speaking during the 2022 prize giving day of the secondary school established in 1980, president of the old students association, Chief Adesina Olatunji-Aresa, said that the aim was to resuscitate culture of recognizing and rewarding merits among deserving students.

“Prize giving day was the in-thing in the old days in the schools, where gifts of all sorts were given to recognize excellence in academic brilliance, good conduct and characters. Unfortunately, it was discontinued due to various socio-economic factors in the system.

“We have decided to bring back prize giving day to recognize and reward those who have performed well. This is not to attract arrogance from winners but to encourage healthy competition in academic life and human conduct.

“Another important reason for organizing this is for you to remember this school and give back to the school after you might have succeeded in various fields of human endeavours in the nearest future”, he said.

Chief Olatunji-Aresa, who commended the school management team for seeing to good academic results among the students, urged them not to relent in their efforts at churning out successful students as raw materials for university education.

He also said that each of the prize winning students went home with N10,000 and N17,000 worth of reading and writing materials.

Also speaking, chairperson, Students Support and Mentoring committee of the old students association, Mrs. Dasola Fatoki, said that to whom much is given much is expected, advising that the students should reciprocate the good gesture by coming out with good academic achievements and be of good morals.

She urged parents to take proper care of their children and encourage them to face their studies in order to complement efforts of the school teachers in such areas like counselling and mentoring.

Those in attendance at the occasion included, Mrs. Titilayomi Oyeniran, represented by Mrs. Adepọju, OHSOSA national financial secretary, Mr. Adeleke Rasheed, as well as chairman 1986 set, Mr. Rasaq Adedoyin, chairman ’93 set Mr. Segun Sanni, Iyabo Adeyiga, and Funmilayo Olakojo, among other dignitaries.

Edited by Felix Ajide

For More News Join Our WhatsApp Group With This Link Below:
WhatsApp group:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.