INEC Disqualifies Three Political Parties From Participating In Osun Governorship Election, Gives Reasons

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, said it had disqualified three Political Parties from participating in the Osun State Governorship Elections.

The commission revealed this in a statement by Festus Okoye, the Chairman of Information and Voters Education committee, on Thursday said the three political parties did not meet up with the provisions of the guidelines and constitution of the country.

The decision according to Okoye, was made at the INEC meeting on Thursday.

The parties are Action Alliance (AA), Action Democratic Congress (ADC) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

The statement read in part, “The Commission would on Friday 25th March 2022 publish in its State and Local Government Offices in Osun State the list and personal particulars of the candidates that Political Parties propose to sponsor at the election. These must be candidates who emerged from valid primaries in line with Section 84 of the Electoral Act 2022.

“The Commission will publish the list and personal particulars of the candidates of 15 out of the 18 political parties that conducted primaries.

The nominations of the Action Alliance (AA), African Democratic Congress (ADC) and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) will not be published for their failure to comply with the Commission’s Guidelines on Political Party Operations (2018) or the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended).

“The AA did not submit a nomination jointly signed by the National Chairman and Secretary of the party while the ADC and APGA nominated candidates that do not meet the age requirements for the office of Deputy Governor as enshrined in the Constitution.

“The Commission has already communicated this position officially to the affected Political parties,” he said.

Edited by Felix Ajide